Home-made Hydraulic Press

My husband made me this hydraulic press and I have been having a blast with it. It changes everything! My shop is so much more functional using it. Just like my rolling mill it is a piece of equipment that just makes hard things easy, fast and perfect. You can do things that a hammer or a saw does in just seconds instead of taking forever and with better accuracy. Awesome 3 dimensional shapes too. I have to drill a one inch hole in the top to fit other attachments to it. Will get that done soon.

About Wild Prairie Silver

Silver and Goldsmith for Wild Prairie Silver Jewelry Co. View all posts by Wild Prairie Silver

3 responses to “Home-made Hydraulic Press

  • Thomas The Fourth

    This is awesome. I’m trying to make a press similar to this for a project I’m working on. This may be a bit off topic, but how do the poles connect to the top and bottom plates? Are those solid or hollow pipes? Thanks.

    • Wild Prairie Silver

      Pipes are actually threaded rod that fit perfectly within the plates. This was done in a machine shop obviously. The top and bottom connect with welded on bolts ands heavy springs. I will send you a photo to your email. There are a lot of ways to make a press. You can view a lot of homemade hydraulic presses on Etsy just search ‘hydraulic press.’All this being said ‘The Potter Press’ is the best value. After making this one I would just by a Potter USA Hydraulic Press. Great press and great value and great guy. Potterusa.com

      • Thomas The Fourth

        Cool, thanks for the reply and info! I checked out the Potter USA Presses, but unfortunately I need at least an 8 inch plate for what I’m working on. The larger ones are just out of my budget.

        Right now I have three plates, and my friend is willing to machine some stuff for me assuming I can figure out the connections.

        Looking forward to those pics, thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

