Little Details Up Close

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I really love to use tiny little details to texture a piece. Why I don’t know. I should take a granulation class or do granulation in general because I would love it. Here is the up close and personal pics of a pendant as I place the solder snippets and little details on the piece. This is very time-consuming and takes a lot of patience. I have it down to a science. It’s all in the initial setup. Placing everything where you need it one at a time. Warm up the flux before hand so your tiny pieces are not jumping all over the place.

About Wild Prairie Silver

Silver and Goldsmith for Wild Prairie Silver Jewelry Co. View all posts by Wild Prairie Silver

6 responses to “Little Details Up Close

  • marty

    Ever try paste solder for those little, itsy, bitsy pieces?

  • Melissa

    I love your details. I have tried paste solder and it is great for little things, but I don’t care much for it. I love using the pallions because you do get more control.

    • Wild Prairie Silver

      I do love the pallions of solder also, but it might be because it’s all I know. Love to see other ways people do things.

  • sue danehy

    What do you use to prevent firescale? When I use tiny pieces I end up with areas nearby that don’t get very clean and I can’t polish very well in between them. Any suggestion? Do you just use a blackening agent and ignore firescale ? I have always admired your little texture pieces!

  • Wild Prairie Silver

    Boy, fire scale has always been a big problem for me. I have gotten much better at avoiding it but not eliminating it completely. With a piece like I am doing in the above photo I will patina it and the spaces will be darkened so I am not overly concerned. I have started to do two things to help eliminate fire scale….. one is depletion guilding ~ Heating the piece up several times and quenching and pickling to bring the fine silver to the top and then solder on your pieces ~ the second thing I have just started to do is to use Fine Silver, especially for a pendant that doesn’t need to be strong like a ring. I wish some teacher along the way would have told me to do this because Fine Silver is just awesome to work with. I tried for about a year to use Argentium and found it was too brittle in some circumstances and no always predictable either. Fine Silver is the ticket for me. I just happened to read that in some other jewelers post on Orchid and it was a light bulb moment! (thanks other jeweler ~ whoever you are.)

Leave a Reply

