Thank You!

Hi all. It’s been awhile since I have made a blog post & a lot is going on. It’s much easier on the day-to-day to post on Instagram, which if you’re not familiar with it, is like a running log of pretty magazine photos with less wordage. I am making this post just to share more information than usual because a lot is happening on The Prairie and that change is because of you. Thank you! 

Obicular Ryolite & Garnet Necklace Removable Kinetic Chain

Wild Prairie Silver has grown every year since the start… which was when my son was an infant, 2001. He will be 18 years old this coming winter…crazy! I have always worked out of my basement and it’s not a studio – it’s a basement. I was talking with another local jeweler and he said, “Why do they always put us in the basement?” We laughed cuz it’s true.

Learning and working, learning and working, learning and working, learning and working….there has been steady small-scale growth (my business is still microscopic) that is wonderful. Wild Prairie Silver will finally have a studio, and be above ground, joining the living by 2019… The view will be of The Prairie that I live on, out of many large windows (A WINDOW! WHATS A WINDOW! SAYS THE GIRL WHO WORKS IN A BASEMENT.) I am excited. (I am also terrified.)

Here is the first pic of the studio… colored concrete slab with some plumbing in it. The walls go up this Friday & Saturday. My husband is doing all the work himself with the help of some friends. I thank them greatly. This is a luxury I could have done without my entire life. I just about throw up looking at the cost, however, what is the cost of the sun shining on you as you work? I just keep saying that to myself. (The size of it is roughly a two car garage.)

Turquoise Aquamarine Cuff Bracelet 

The studio space is a work space, not a retail space. We will have an open studio event yearly for Christmas, but not sure it will be ready this year. We will be able to see you by appointment which really helps with ring restyles & custom designs. We will have wine, chocolate and jewelry on hand  in case you call and can stop in for a jewelry fix, plus a glass of wine and a piece of chocolate!

I have had the same 2 questions this year from multiple folks. So I will try to answer them as best I can.  1)  How to ‘have a business?’  2)  Do I or will I teach a class?

  1. I have one answer to creating a business from your art = work. I work a minimum  of full-time, usually it’s much more than that. Work time is not time on the computer. Work time is time you are actually creating something. There is no secret. I worked as an RN since I was 21 years old, until 3 years ago (I am now 43). I started making jewelry, loved it and the entire time I was an RN, I was becoming a jeweler…did both at the same time for 16 years. I ‘retired’ from my nursing career reluctantly 3 years ago and it was the best thing that could have happened. (Everything happens for a reason and nothing worth having happens easily or overnight.) Clock your time and work 40 hours at whatever it is you do. Your work day is 8-5 like everyone elses or 7-7 or 6-8… whatever it takes…. If you’re not doing this you are not working enough. If you have small children this is impossible if you are actually being a parent. I could not do this with children under 10 years old. Also take a vacation every year even if it’s an at home vacation and do not do your art for one week. Your mind needs a restart and maybe your hands need a rest as well.
  2.  About teaching classes: I simply do not have time. I have so much to do before I die. I will never get it all done. I need more classes myself. I have a family. I run a business. I am an artist. I am always thinking and creating, reinventing a wheel in my basement … and then making dinner. Leaving here to teach a class is almost impossible. I live in a very rural area that has zero hotels. I don’t/won’t ever have the space here to teach a class. When I do get to leave here I want to take a vacation with my kids/husband and not make jewelry. Once in a great while I teach at Peninsula School Of Art, Fish Creek Door County Wisconsin, which is one hour from my house. They have a beautiful metals studio with great classes and great teachers. PeninsulaSchoolOfArt.org  

Labradorite Necklace 

Cross Angel Wing Necklace 

I have to say a huge Thank you!!!!!  to all that have helped me in the past years and years ~ Either as a customer, as a mentor, as my family member, as a teacher, as a gallery owner, a friend … Wow, so many people have touched and influenced my life so I can do what I love to do.

Also I have an apprentice, she’s be a wonderful addition to the studio… Kali… She is becoming an amazing jeweler in her own right. Then there’s Skyla… the college intern… she is the organizational CEO of the studio. She has organizational skills that I was never born with. Both of these wonderful women help with all things Wild Prairie. They don’t go to shows cuz that would be cruel and unusual punishment ~ Roadies for the art shows… husband, Savannah and Wyatt (my kids who have spent countless hours at art shows)… take down and set up is a smash and grab but it gets done in record time.

***My customer…. none of this would be possible without you believing in what I make for you. I want your piece of jewelry to be everything you want it to be. I want your heirloom jewelry to be worn, be memorable and be amazing. I want the items you decide to decorate your body with to be a reflection of you, your past, present, future. That is why I love what I do. It connects us. My art connects you to memories and events and that makes it all worth any time, any failure, tons of effort… it’s the success in the finished piece that makes your face light up with joy or tear up with a memories. My very best pieces have been because of you pushing me, changing it, making me see it through your perspective. I could not exist without ya. 🙂 🙂 🙂

Diamond Ring 

And for the Jewelry… making leaps and strides with higher end pieces.. getting braver and braver. I hope to take another gem setting class in 2019 so I can be more confident in setting unusual gems in gold. Ring show is for sale but an example of how your diamonds sitting in a drawer can become something else… something you will wear.

Events coming up are Oct 6 & 7th Townline Art Fair which is held at the Fineline Gallery in Ephraim Wisconsin… Door Co. It’s a show that has been going on for decades so come and enjoy the fall colors and the beautiful harvest festivals all over Door County that weekend. November 24th, Small Business Saturday, East Depere High School 9-3.

I will keep ya updated on the Studio. Since my husband is doing it himself it will take a while. Again thank you all, and enjoy the weekend and hopefully see you at a show before Christmas.(Yes, I said Christmas… it’s coming…. please put in any custom orders as soon as ya can… already started on some.)

~ God Bless 🙂 joy

About Wild Prairie Silver

Silver and Goldsmith for Wild Prairie Silver Jewelry View all posts by Wild Prairie Silver

6 responses to “Thank You!

  • glassbytammyrae

    SOOOOOOO excited for you my dear friend!!! YAY YAY YAY!!!!!

    Glass by Tammy Rae | 262-607-2025 http://www.tammyrae.com

    On Sat, Sep 22, 2018 at 2:24 PM Wild Prairie Silver wrote:

    > Wild Prairie Silver posted: “Hi all. It’s been awhile since I have made a > blog post & a lot is going on. It’s much easier on the day to day to post > on Instagram, which if you’re not familiar with it, is like a running log > of pretty magazine photos with less wordage. I am making t” >

  • Kelly

    So happy for you about your new studio!!!! Mine is my oldest sons old bedroom. He laughs when he comes home for a visit. Have fun in your journey.

  • mroschyk

    And we thank you for sharing your creativity, your art, your generous heart and some amazing jewelry! I can’t wait to see the new studio and the work being made there.

  • Judy

    😁 very happy for you! Exciting.

  • Tamara Culp

    I am beyond thrilled for you. You have earned your success with every creative hour joyfully (pun intended) and doggedly logged. You are an inspiration to makers of all kinds and I’m glad to have been a lurker along your way. When I had to give up my shows I changed my path to drawing and painting but it was jewelry that honed my eye and hand. It was jewelry design that unintentionally gave me the skills to draw as I do today and I am grateful. As I am grateful to makers like you who so generously share their journey and allow the rest of us to feel a little less alone as we continue on our own way.

  • valdoyledesigns

    You absolutely rock!!!! Congrats on the above ground studio! Well deserved!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.